I am new to this C thing and am triny very hard to understand but am having a little problem getting thing to work. I have a project that I have been working on and cannot seem to get it to work.
This is what I have so far and for the life of me can not seem to get it to work. I know I am missing something. When it is compiled it is supposed to ask the question How long would it be on a side? and the user enters a number and then after the number is entered a square would be formed usings asteriks. So, can anyone help me??? Please...:lol:

#include <stdio.h>
main()
{
         int length;
         int width;
         int count = 0;
         printf("How long would it be on a side?\n");
         scanf("%d*%d",&length,&width);
         printf("\n");

while (count <= length*width){
         printf("*");
         count++;
       }
}

"square.c" 27 lines, 313 characters

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

1. First of all main returns int so your prototype should be int main (void) with a return 0 at the end of the program.

2. You wanted a square of * but you ask the user two parameters width and height , so do you really want a square or a rectangle.

3. You are using while loop the wrong way... use nested for loops to achieve the same purpose.

for( i = 0; i < height; ++i )
{
    for( j = 0; j < width; ++j )
    {
         putchar( '*' ) ;
    }
}

// or to modify what you have done..
count = 1 ;
while( count <= (height * width) )
{
   if( count % width == 0 )
      putchar( '\n' ) ;
   putchar( '*' ) ;
   ++count ;
}

Hope it helped , bye.

I tried this but am confused and received errors. I am trying to get an out put that look like this when complied and the user input a number:

say the user inputs 15 for the number; then there woud be a square made up of * 15 accross top and bottom and 15 down each side.

I tried this but am confused and received errors.

What errors? We can't help if we don't know what the errors are nor what the new program looks like.