Hi Guys

I am new to C# programming and I wandered whether anyone could help me regarding this error message below:

C:\MyFirstCOMTemplate\COM\PushTemplateC\PushTemplateC.cs(86): 'PushTemplateC.PushTemplateC.PblReadFile()': not all code paths return a value

I am simply trying to get the text below:

My name is
Neil Rastogi
I am aged

to be output in a listbox. I have created a simple data2.txt file using streamwriter class below within a c# component:

public void PblAddFile()
{
//int PrvFile = FreeFile();
try
{
// Create a new file to work with
FileStream fsOut = File.Create("C:\\data2.txt");
StreamWriter sw = new StreamWriter (fsOut);
sw.WriteLine("My name is");
sw.WriteLine("Neil Rastogi");
sw.WriteLine("I am aged");
sw.WriteLine("25");
sw.Flush();
sw.Close();
fsOut.Close();
}
catch (Exception)
{
Console.WriteLine("Error raised writing to the file");
}
}

The method above works fine. The second method below is what is causing the error message below:

public string PblReadFile()
{
FileStream fsIn = File.OpenRead("C:\\data2.txt");
StreamReader sr = new StreamReader (fsIn);
//And read the data
while (sr.Peek() > -1)
{
lbLines.Items.Add(sr.ReadLine());
//PblReadFile() = sr.ReadLine();
return sr.ReadLine(); 
}
sr.Close();
fsIn.Close();
}

I am not sure really what is wrong can anyone suggest any ideas? Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi, your problem is not related to the text file that you want to read. The real problem is because you create a method that has a return value of type string, but inside the method's logic, there's a program flow that will end up with not giving any return value.

I don't know what is exactly do you want with the second method. Since inside the loop, there's a return statement, meaning if you invoke this method, it will quit directly after reading the first line of your text file, and give the second line of your text file as a return value. Is this really what you want?