Hi all

I am new to C++ and have a few questions if that is ok.

I would like to get into good habbits early (i.e., using switch instead of 12 if else statments) and was wondering if anyone knew right off how to get a timer to time the compilation and execution of the program? I would like to test and tweak my work just to see what will make it faster and smoother. My prof said he knew there was one available but he couldn't think of it right off... any clue?

Also, I am looking for an extra credit problem. I was told that I might try writing programming "pearls" - techniques that elegantly solve common problems. If anyone has an idea of something creative please let me know. Note that I only have knowledge on iostream, fstream, iomanip, cmath, and control structures. Not sure how creative I can get with so little under my belt.

Thanks everyone!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>
#include <ctime>

int main()
{
  std::clock_t start;
  double diff;

start = std::clock();
  for ( int i = 0; i < 1000000; i++ )
    printf ( "iamthwee" );
  diff = ( std::clock() - start ) / (double)CLOCKS_PER_SEC;

std::cout<<"printf: "<< diff <<'\n';
}

>> was told that I might try writing programming "pearls

A common problem is to write a function that validates user integer input. It would get the value from the keyboard as a string then parse the string for illegal characters. If any illegal characters are found display an error message and ask for input again. Finally when no illegals are found convert the string to int and return the value.

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdio>
#include <ctime>

int main()
{
  double diff;

start = std::clock();
  for ( int i = 0; i < 1000000; i++ )
    printf ( "iamthwee" );

std::cout<<"printf: "<< diff <<'\n';
}

How will I use this? part at the beginning and part at the end or what? :) thanks! :mrgreen: