access c++ private data members without using the " Friend" type
main() can be a friend function?

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

maybe use get and set functions? If you're doing it without friends, it seems like making main a friend is not allowed...

>access c++ private data members without using the " Friend" type
Why is this such a common question? It's insanely stupid.

I'm just learning C++ myself...

Wouldn't you use a public member function to access and modify private member variables?

> Wouldn't you use a public member function to access and modify private member variables?
Yes everyone else would.

But some people seem to like asking stupid questions like this which subvert the whole idea of using an OO language for data encapsulation.

Like somehow knowing that if you could smash your way through the barriers, it would make you some kind of 'leet' programmer (it won't).

I'm just learning C++ myself...

Wouldn't you use a public member function to access and modify private member variables?

Indeed, also you can use "friend" functions to classes - as indicated above. Example:

class simple {
friend void fac(simple *ptr);
public:
protected:
private:
string stest;
};
void fac(simple *ptr) {
ptr->stest = "Hello";
cout << ptr->stest << endl;
}
int main() {
simple test;
fac(&test);
return 0;
}

Hope I've helped, LamaBot

Indeed, also you can use "friend" functions to classes - as indicated above. Example:

Yes, but the thread was about changing private variables without using friends. ;)

He had a question, I thought I'd answer and add to it. I might need his help one day.

LamaBot

> Wouldn't you use a public member function to access and modify private member variables?
Yes everyone else would.

But some people seem to like asking stupid questions like this which subvert the whole idea of using an OO language for data encapsulation.