Which is the best book or site for learning JAVA perfectly?
What should i install on my PC to learn programming in JAVA environment??
I dont know anything abt JAVA. I am just a beginner. please help me out

thanks

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

nothing perfect...

Best bet is to download a development enviroment like JCreator or Eclipse and find some online examples. Really depends on what you want to do with java. There's plenty of books on Java that you can get from a library or buy online.

I am sorry to disagree, but learning on an IDE is not the way to go.

You should learn the basics (compilation, execution, jarfile packaging, classpath manipulation, basic syntax, etc.) using a simple text editor and the command line.

Whenever you do it the other way, you learn some hard lessons the first time a problem occurs, or the first time that you do not have your preferred IDE to use, because you won't have a grasp of those basics, and so will be lost as to what might be causing the problem, or as to how to do something in another IDE, since all you will know is how to manipulate your preferred IDE not what it is you are actually manipulating.

Other than, simply starting at the Sun totorial site, with "Getting Started" and working your way down the page, is sufficient to at least get started. Also, when it comes to doing the examples, type them do not cut and paste them, you will learn much more that way, whether you believe it or not.

have a look at Netbeans there site has tutorials for the ide too

Netbeans is crap as an IDE, and even worse as a learning device.
You'll end up learning the tool, where all the buttons and wizards are, rather than the language.

Anyone can click and drag something together that looks halfway decent, but that doesn't make them programmers.

I am a begginer and i know very little about java language. Can somebody start me off by showing me how to write a payroll program. Thank you in advance.