<< split from this thread >>

I am a student in Bogazici University/Turkey. We have a project and I want to change the cursor position but there is a problem. Our teachers are using Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition. In this compiler there is no windows.h header. What can I do?

>Can you please help me on calling interrupts in that standard?
Didn't you already ask that question, or was it someone else?

>By I think, one of the h files can be used for this purpose.
windows.h, and you have to implement the functionality yourself:

#include <windows.h> 

void gotoxy ( short x, short y )
{
  COORD coord = {x, y};
  SetConsoleCursorPosition ( GetStdHandle ( STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE ), coord );
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

There is no way VS C++ doesn't contain windows.h in its include folder; when the pigs fly...

You had better search for that file using windows' search tool or using something like Google Desktop.

I am a student in Bogazici University/Turkey. We have a project and I want to change the cursor position but there is a problem. Our teachers are using Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition. In this compiler there is no windows.h header. What can I do?

visual c++ express does not ship with the platform sdk (for which windows.h is the main header). however, you can download and install the platform sdk for free. and you need to set up the visual c++ environment to use it. for clear step-by-step instructions on how to do this, see:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/visualc/usingpsdk/