ok...i'm new to this c language and i was wondering what am i supposed to do if the user enters a string that is longer than my array size. for our assignment, we're supposed to ask for the user's name and our array size is supposed to be 20 characters. if the user enter something more than 20, we're supposed to give an error message saying that only the first 20 characters will be stored. for my code, if the user enters more than 20 characters, the additional character would be assigned to another variable. what am i supposed to do.
i'm using fscanf to accept the string but i read that it's better to use gets.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

fgets() is always better than scanf() because fgets() will not accept more characters than will fit in the buffer. But neither scanf() nor fgets() will meet the requirements of your assignment. You need a function that will get only one key at a time from the keyboard so that your program can do the validations. getchar() will do that.

thanks for the tip.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <malloc.h>
void main()
{
   char name[20];   
   int i=0;

printf("please enter the name ");
   for (name[i]=getchar();name[i]!='\n';name[i]=getchar()) 
   {                                               
    i+=1;
   }
   if (i>=20)
   {
       printf ("You entered more than 20 characters");
   }
   printf("your name is %s and has %d characters",name,i); 
   free( name );                 
}

this is what i came up with...but with what i have, the variable will still store what ever the user entered. how am i supposed to do it so that only 20 characters are stored

you're trying to put too much at the top of that loop. Break it down, pub the getchar() inside the loop and on each loop iteration check if the value of i exceeds 19 (need one byte for the string's null terminator, or make the size of the buffer 21.

BTW: that doesn't look like it is your code -- not something a beginner would write.