I'm very new to VB this is my first attempt at a project.

basically i want a simple program that will display a famous singers surname in a text box, then ask the user to input the singers first name in another box. The system must then check the answer in relation to the values stored inside a 2D array. it should then give the user 1 point for a correct answer.

Does anyone have any ideas where i's start or any sample programs that can point me in the right direction.

I've uploaded my project so far its not very good and doesnt work, but you can get the idea of what i am trying to achieve.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=45CDXI3M

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

i'm having real trouble with this has anyone got any suggestions?

Thanks

Here's a clue, put some of you're own code around it. Post it and we help you get it right. But you have to code first, even if it doesn't work.

Dim famouseNames(,) As String = {{John,Wayne},{Delia,Smith},{Florence,Nightingale}}

Ooops excuse me you did posta link to code I forgot.

ok heres what i got from your clue:

dim famousnames(,) as string = {{John,Wayne},{Delia,Smith}}

r=String.compare(Textbox,famousnames(0,1))

if r = 0 then score = 1

messagebox.show(correct)

else score = 0

but even when i put this into a vb.net project it will not work, can someone put it in a project and save the project so that i can download it and look thanks.

Hi your project was in a bit of a mess, I had to move Application.Designer.vb, AssemblyInfo.vb, Resources.Designer.vb, Resources.resx, Settings.Designer.vb into the MyProject folder before it would run in debug.

Ok *never* go straight into code. First design :

Create a 2d array of famouse Christain and Surnames.

Randomly select a surname (remember the index for later)

display randomly selected surname to user, ask user to supply christian name

read users response

compare response to expected answer (using the saved index)

award points if any

select another name