Hi,

I'm fairly new to c++ and I'm having some trouble getting this to work as a function.

Here's the error I get:

error C2447: '{' : missing function header (old-style formal list?)

I can work through the minor troubleshooting of basic syntax I just don't get how to call the function properly.

Thanks!!

here's the code:

#include<iostream>// calls I/O library
usingnamespace std;
double sales;//declare sales as a double so decimals can be used
void salesInput()//Sales Input Function
{
const double basePay = 200;//declare base salary as a constant 
const double grossSales = .09;//declare gross sales as a constant
double com;//declare commission as double so decimals can be used
com=((sales * 0.09) + 200);//calculation for commission
cout << "Total pay plus 9% commission is " <<com << endl;//output final results to the screen
}
usingnamespace std;
int main();
{
cout << "Enter the Sales for the week, enter a zero to quit"<< endl; //ask user for input
cin >> sales;//get input and store as variable sales
while (sales != 0 )//Start sales loop, executes function sales input if anything other than a zero is entered, if zero then exit
{
salesInput();//calls sales input function
}
cout << “You entered a zero to quit!” << endl;
return0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

remove the semicolon at the end of line 13. That's a common mistake for even old-timers -- you just need to learn how to recognize the error.

remove the semicolon at the end of line 13. That's a common mistake for even old-timers -- you just need to learn how to recognize the error.

OK fixed that (thanks) and I removed line 21 which was causing an error (I'll fix that later). Problem now is I'm in a continuous loop, which is what I had before I tried to make a function out of it. How do I make it execute the function once then return to ask if there is another amount to put in?

Thanks!

also delete line 12, don't have to declare that only once at the top of the program and after the includes.