Hey everyone, I'm new to C++ programming and have just started the semester and having a bit of trouble with my second homework assignment. Here's the assignment: Write a program that accepts a 7-9 digit integer andechoes the number with commas between every three
digits from the right. Here's what I have so far:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main() //Needed in every program, where program execution begins
{
      int number;

cout << "Please enter a 7 to 9 digit number" << endl;
      cin >> number; 
      cout << "The number you entered is: " << number << endl;

return 0; 
}

As you can see from my code above that my issue comes in when it comes to placing the commas. Would I use an if statement and mod division? I don't want you to do my homework, I want you to point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for the help.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

you could divide you 7-9 digit number into 3 numbers and place commas between them...

I don't want you to do my homework, I want you to point me in the right direction.

Ok, here are a few hints that you can bring together to do the program.

1: You can find the right side (least significant) digit for a number in any base by saying number % base. If the number is 123 and the base is 10, 123 % 10 gives you 3.

2: You can trim the least significant digit for a number in any base by saying number / base. I the number is 123 and the base is 10, 123 / 10 gives you 12.

3: You can find the number of digits in an integer by adding 1 to the floor of the base 10 logarithm of the absolute value of the integer.

int digits = 1;

if ( number != 0 ) {
  digits = 1 + (int)floor( log10( abs( number ) ) );
}

4: You can find the left side (most significant) digit for a number of any base by saying number / (int)pow( (double)base, digits ) .

5: You can trim the most significant digit for a number of any base by saying number % (int)pow( (double)base, digits ) .