its part of a dvd program. i want all the objects created and manipulated by the program to be stored in a dynamic array that might grow during the execution of the program. I want to program to store the info in a dynamic array that i can call anywhere to list the info. im having trouble with using dynamic memory and classes together, ...please help, thanks

class Names 
{ 
private: 
string title;
int i;
int * p; 

public: 
void enter_new();  // sets names of actors to the DVD 
}film; 

void Names::enter_new()
{char ans;
cout << "How many movies would you like to type? ";
cin >> film.i;
int ii= film.i;
(film.p)= new int[ii];

if ((film.p) == 0)
    cout << "Error: memory could not be allocated";
  else
  {
   for (int a=1; a<(ii); a++)
    {cout<<"\n Please enter the name: "<<endl; 
      cin >> (film.p)[a];
   }
    delete[] p;
  }

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

You're using strings, why not use vectors too? Much easier.

i guess, easier for programmers, im just a beginner, elobrate a bit please?ill try with pointers tho, but im still confused abt my original question

im having trouble with using dynamic memory and classes together

>i guess, easier for programmers, im just a beginner
Easier for beginners too because you don't have to worry about managing the memory.

>im having trouble with using dynamic memory and classes together
Compare and contrast:

{
  cout<<"How many movies would you like to type? ";
  cin>> i;

p = new int[i];

for ( int a = 0; a < i; a++ ) {
    cout<<"\n Please enter the name: "; 
    cin>> p[a];
  }
}

You're not just working with the film object in a member function, you're working with any possible object of the Names class. Also, you want the memory to persist until the object is destroyed, which means not deleting it until the destructor is called. Finally, new doesn't return a null pointer if it fails anymore, it throws an exception.

ya i tried that wrote before, it had some wierd looping problem...workin on it.