Hi all,
I am new in shell scripting and I would like to make a bash script which will inform me if one of my friend is already logeed in. If a friend is logged in I want to take as output
USER1 : is in.
else USER1 : last time he/she logged in was "date"

I have to notice that the names of my friends are written in a file for example 1.txt. The 1.txt file is like that :
USER1
USER2
USER3

COULD ANYONE HELP ME ???

Thanks a lot!!!!!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

check the man page of who command.
for reading the text file, you can use while loop
eg just an example

while read user
do
    who |grep $user
    if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
       echo "user $user logged in
    fi
done < "file"

I'm not sure if who will give you the last time they were logged in. If not, you can use finger, which will also tell you if they are currently logged in.

while read user

What do you mean when you say user.
Is it a variable from command line ??
I don't understand.
I want to write only the name of sh file on command line.

Also, how are read the lines from file 1.txt which contain the users ?

Could anyone give me the code exacly to read it ?

P.S. : I am sorry but now I learn about shell scripting.

#!/bin/sh

while read user
do
    who |grep $user
    if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
       echo "user $user logged in
    fi
done < "file"

"file" contains the list of users you have stated. the while loop reads each line of input from "file" , and assign that line to variable "user". Inside the loop, we do the who command and try to grep the user. to call a variable value out, we use the $ dollar sign infront of the variable word, like $user. The return value of grep, when found , is 0. So we catch this return value using $?. It will store the return value. We check it against 0, if it is 0, then print out the result.
please look here to learn more.

Your code is working nearly perfect.
The only problem I have is that the result of command

who | grep $user

appear on screen and I won't it.