ok so I'm very new at classes and don't quite understand them much so this may seem simple.

What I have to do basically is write a program that takes in an angle (for example 149degree symbol34.8' W) and then prints it out on to the screen. I have to write a main() function that displays an angle initialized with the three argument constructor and an uninitialized angle that uses the default constructor.

Here's what I have so far:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

void greeting();
//Diplays the greeting.

class Angle
{
   public:
      Angle()
      {
          degrees = 0;
          mins = 0;
          direction = 0;
      }
      Angle(int d, double m, char di)
      {
            d = degrees;
            m = mins;
            di = direction;
      }
      ~Angle(){}
      void getAngle();
      void displayAngle();
   private:
      int degrees;
      double mins;
      char direction;
};

int main()
{
   char runagain;
   Angle x;

greeting();

do
   {
      x.getAngle();
      x.displayAngle();

cout << endl << endl << "Do you wish to run again? y/n ";
      cin >> runagain;
      runagain = tolower (runagain);
      cout << endl;
   }
   while(runagain !='n');

system("pause");
   return 0;
}

void greeting()
{
   cout << "This program will print out angles that the user enters.\n";
}

void Angle::getAngle()
{
   cout << "Please enter the number of degrees, minutes, and the direction: ";
   cin >> degrees >> mins >> direction;
}

void Angle::displayAngle()
{
   cout << "Angle is: " << degrees << (char)248 << mins << "'" << direction << endl;
}

I can't seem to be able to enter something that doesn't have three arguments and have it print out the default. Please help?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

In that case, instead of accepting the input from user in the form of integers, accept the input in the form of string. Parse to string and find out whether the user has entered one, two, three values.