hi, every body..

I have two program I couldn’t solve them
So, can any body help me. please!!

1-Write a program that accepts a character and count number of occurrences in a file.
The file should have some text, and the program count how many times the inputted character repeated in the file and prints the result on the screen.
(Hint: you have to use continue statement in your solution )

Sample input:
Input.txt
I am a student in the university

Sample output:
Enter the character :a
The letter a repeated 2 times(s)

2-Write a program that accepts a character and search it in a file.
The file should have some text, and the program search for the first occurrence of the character and print it’s location on the screen…
(Hint: use break statement to stop the loop)

Sample input:
Input.txt
I am a student in the university

Sample output:
Enter the character to search :a
the first occurrence of a character is at location 3

I am waiting the replies ..

{ thanks all}

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I don't see what the problem is. Why can't you write these programs? There must be some specific information you're lacking. What do you need to figure out how to do in order to make progress towards a solution?

I don't see what the problem is. Why can't you write these programs? There must be some specific information you're lacking. What do you need to figure out how to do in order to make progress towards a solution?

I want to know how to solve these programs..the method..

thanks for your reply..

Can you for example open a text file and print the contents of the text file to the screen?

If you can do that much, then you're prepared for the next step.

If you can't, then we need to clear that bit up for you before progressing with the searching bit of the assignment.

In other words, show us how far you can get on your own.

Can you for example open a text file and print the contents of the text file to the screen?