hi!
i'm new to the C#. net and need a help for my application, thanks in advance,problem is i have an application which has to read the data which is like this

-------------------------(white spaces which is in the file)

--------- abc ---------- d----------- efd----------- de

xxx----- 25.80---------12.10--------180000.0--------11111

yyyyyyyy---------------709.-----------.03-------------------

zz-------------------------------------1426.-------------------------

and has to make an entry in the database in a table as
table structure is name, abc , d, efd, de

first entry should be

name: xxx
abc:25.80
d:12.10
efd:180000.0
de:11111

second entry should be

name: yyyyyyyy
abc:
d:709.
efd:.03
de:

second entry should be

name: zz
abc:
d:
efd:.1426.
de:

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Is the spacing consistent in the file? Like do each of the values always start at the same column?

abc       d         efd       de
xxx       25.80     12.10     180000.0  11111
yyyyyyyy            709.      .03
zz                  1426.

If yes, you can use the starting column index for each item to extract the values. Read the first x characters from index y of the row. Trim the result and if it's an empty string, the field you put into the database is null. If the values don't start on the same column, you have a problem because there might not be a way to know which fields are null and which fields aren't if there aren't four values for each name...

Member Avatar for iamthwee

This looks like a recipe for disaster. You need to think of a better(more unique) way to identify each column. Counting white space just ain't gonna cut it.

This looks like a recipe for disaster. You need to think of a better(more unique) way to identify each column. Counting white space just ain't gonna cut it.