Let me start by saying this is my first post here at daniweb and I am pretty new at C++. With that said I will dive right in.

I have a program due next week and trying to get it hammered out. I have to create a line editor that will keep entire text on a linked list one line in a seperate node. ( I think I have that part). It starts with "Edit" and enter the file name to open. ( I think I have that as well). afte this line a prompt should appear with line number (i.e. 1>) if the letter 'I' is entered with a number 'n' following it , then insert the text followed before line 'n'. If 'd' is entered with two numbers 'n' and 'm', one 'n' or no number following it, then delete lines 'n' - 'm', line 'n', or current line. Do the same with command 'L' for listing line. If 'A' is entered then append to existing line, and finally if 'E' exit and save in text file.

I have most of the functions put together, just not real sure how to approach the prompts and such for the insert, delete, list, and append. (or exit for that matter). My code is below. I appreciate any help with this.

#include <stdlib.h>
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
#include <stdio.h>

using namespace std;

struct node{
node *next;
string sentence;
//char sentence[80];
};

void append (struct node **, string);
//void append (struct node **, char);

node *add_node(node *list, string x){ //insert at front or in front of current line
//node *add_node(node *list, char x){
node *p = new node;
p->next = list;
p->sentence = x;
return p;
}

node *find_item(node *list, string x){
//node *find_item(node *list, char x){
node *p = list;
while (p != NULL){
if (p->sentence == x)
return p;
p = p->next;
}
return NULL;
}

node *find_item_before(node *list, string x){
//node *find_item_before (node *list, char x){
node *p = list, *q = list;
while (q != NULL){
if (q->sentence == x)
return p;
p = q;
q = q->next;
}
return NULL;
}

node *delete_node (node *list, string x){ //delete line