Hi all,

I'm new at c. How do I make the system pause until any key is pressed in linux like getche does in borland?

thanks

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

getchar is the standard C library function. Borland compiler has many functions that have no standard C library equivalent, such as everything in graphics.h.

Well it's getchar but getchar is not exactly equivalent to the getche in borland c... By default, the standard input in c is in the canonical mode, which means that all input is line buffered and the line would be received only after the linefeed. This means that no matter what function we use for input, we have to press enter after anything we write, for it to become available. At least it must be so by standard, because standard input must be line buffered, if any compiler implements it otherwise for some standard c functions, then this compiler does not conform to standard. So, we cannot use input in non-canonical mode, in standard c, which means also that one cannot use compiler flags like -std=c89, to force a strict standard c, one must compile in that case without these flags.

So we cannot switch off the canonical mode by standard c functions, but we can do it using standard posix functions. POSIX is a standard which somewhat can be considered as an extension of the standard c library, as standard c library is a subset of it, but posix enables to do everything which is necessary to communicate with the operating system. In posix, there is a header termios.h, which provides functions necessary to change the terminal attributes, and the canonical mode is one of these. Unfortunately windows doesn't implement posix (though one can buy from ms some posix extension to windows or such), in spite that it's standard, so we cannot use the following in windows.

Using the graphical user interface like gtk, the input is always non-canonical, and happens character by character in the callback function which processes the key press event.