Hello everyone. This is my first post so if something doesn't work, bear with me. I'm a beginner at python and tried to write a program that will calculate Average Word Length. I wrote what I thought should work but the final answer keeps coming out to an average of one no matter what I write. Help someone?

def main():
    print"This program will calculate average word length!"
    import string
    s = raw_input ("Enter a phrase: ")
    words = s.split()
    wordCount = len(words)
    for word in words:
        ch= len(word)
    avg = ch / wordCount
    if avg is 1:
        print "In the sentence", s , ", the average word length is", avg, "letter."
    else:
        print "In the sentence", s , ", the average word length is", avg, "letters."

main()

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

You are using 'avg is 1', this is like saying 'avg is True' which is True as long avg is not zero, so you will get the first statement. You have to use 'avg == 1' or better 'avg > 1' ...

def main():
    print"This program will calculate average word length!"
    #s = raw_input ("Enter a phrase: ")
    # use temporary test string instead of input
    s = "this is a test string"
    words = s.split()
    wordCount = len(words)
    # start with zero characters
    ch = 0
    for word in words:
        # add up characters
        ch += len(word)  
    avg = ch / wordCount
    if avg == 1:
        print "In the sentence ", s , ", the average word length is", avg, "letter."
    else:
        print "In the sentence ", s , ", the average word length is", avg, "letters."

main()

"""
result -->
This program will calculate average word length!
In the sentence  this is a test string , the average word length is 3 letters.
"""

I'm confused. I agree with the change; == is almost always better than is. Still and all...

>>> a = 2
>>> a is 1
False
>>> a is 2
True
>>> if a is 1:
    print "a is 1!"
else:
    print "a is not 1!"

a is not 1!
>>>