Hi,
I am new to C#. I have compiled and executed the following program in Microsofr Visual Studio .NET 2003 .

using System;
publicclass Enumdemo
{
enum Color{
red,
blue,
black,
green
}

public static void Main(string[] args) {
Color Mycolor;

System.Console.Write("Enter the values: 0 for red 1 for blue 2 for black 3 for green\n");

string a = Console.ReadLine();

System.Console.WriteLine("the value of the a is {0}",a);
Mycolor = (Color) Convert.ToInt32(a);
switch(Mycolor){
case Color.blue: System.Console.WriteLine("you have choosen the value blue ");
break;
case Color.red: System.Console.WriteLine("you have choosen the value red ");
break;
case Color.black: System.Console.WriteLine("you have choosen the value black ");
break;
case Color.green: System.Console.WriteLine("you have choosen the value green ");
break;
default: System.Console.WriteLine("you have choosen no color ");
break;

}
}
}

It is not reading the input from the user for the following line

"System.Console.Write("Enter the values: 0 for red 1 for blue 2 for black 3 for green\n");

string a = Console.ReadLine();"

Its not allowing me to enter some value for "a". Its giving the
out put as
"you have choosen the value red " without entering anything.

How to get the output in a seperate console window(black window).

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

please write your important code and surround it with

and the rest don't
really I could not read your question!!!!!

the above code is not reading values from console......

at the end write
Console.Readline at the end on ur code

Your enum declaration is wrong;

enum Color { red, blue, black, green };

You need to have a semicolon [;] at the end of it's declaration. Also, only enter Digits at the question prompt, because then the string is converted into integer. So anything other an integer will cause the program to break.

So you can specify to accept the data as integer only.

int a = Convert.ToInt32(Console.ReadLine());
Mycolor = (Color)(a);