Hi all

I am totally new to C++ and I am using the Dev C++ compiler and getting the tutorial off
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/program_structure.html
I ran the first program (code below) and it compiled fine but when I run it a box appears then dissappears so quickly I dont have time to see what it is but by the black colour I assume its DOS, can anyone tell me why it is doing this please as I don't know if my program is working correctly and I tried the other examples and the same happens, am I doing something wrong is that why it dissappears so quickly?

/ my first program in C++

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
  cout << "Hello World!";
  return 0;
}

Many thanks

HLA91

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

You need to put a cin.get(); before the return 0;

Also the black window is commonly referred to as ze console window

Ok thanks it works now but why didnt the tutorial tell me that, can you recommend a good tutorial for me?

Many thanks for quick reply

HLA91

Member Avatar for iamthwee

> why didnt the tutorial tell me that

Because it ain't got nowt to do with c++, or the semantics of the language anyway. It depends on whether your IDE (integrated development environment) already has a built-in option to pause the program for viewing.

Some don't, some do.

If you ran your program from the command prompt there would be no need for the cin.get(); .

>a good tutorial for me
There are a few useful snippets at daniweb. Look there. But ultimately the best way to learn is to try your hand at a problem and post your queries here.

I have come across another problem again, the code from another tutorial wont be visible

// How IF Works#include <iostream>using namespace std;int main(){    cout << "Enter your age: ";    int age;    cin >> age;        if (age < 20)    cout << "You are still young!\n";    else    cout << "You are not so young anymore.\n";    }