Hi all,

I'm a beginner in JAVA studying SWING. I learned that if we want to handle an event for a event source(say JButton) we should implement corresponding Event Listener(say ActionListener) .
I also understood that we should register the Listener with that event source.

With that knowledge I tried this program

import javax.swing.*;
import java.awt.event.*;

public class SimpleGui2 implements MouseListener,ActionListener {
   SimpleGui2 insGui;
   JButton button= new JButton("Click me");

public static void main(String[] args) {
          SimpleGui2 gui = new SimpleGui2();
          gui.start();
     }

public void start() {
        JFrame frame = new JFrame();

//button.addMouseListener(this);    
        //button.addActionListener(this); 
        button.addActionListener(insGui);

frame.getContentPane().add(button);
        frame.setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLOSE);

frame.setSize(300,300);
        frame.setVisible(true);
     }

public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent ae) {
        button.setText("Triggered");
   }

public void mouseClicked(MouseEvent me) {
      button.setText("I have been clicked");
    }
   public void mouseEntered(MouseEvent me) { }
   public void mouseExited(MouseEvent me) { }
   public void mousePressed(MouseEvent me) { }
   public void mouseReleased(MouseEvent me) { }   
}

but It's is not working as I expected.
or precisely why when we clicked the actionPerformed/mouseClicked method is not invoked ?

if i change the same with argument "this" it's working .
I guess "this" refers to current object (which is also of type SimpleGui2 which implemented ActionListener)

Can any one please clarify me what happens behind the scenes ?

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies