Hello Guys,

I am new to Shell Scrpting but I am learning quickly. My script looks as follows:

#!/bin/sh
su - postgres
echo "Please enter the password for a2billing user and confirm it: "
createuser -W -S -d -r -e a2billinguser
createdb -e -O a2billinguser a2billing
exit 0

With above, the script should prompt for a password to create a user and then ask for the same password again to create database. However, my output stops after using command "su - postgres". What can I do to curb this? is there an alternative?

Thanks,
Bruce

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Because su opens an interactive shell you might try placing everything below the su command into a seperate script (lets imagine we call it newScript.ksh), then change this script to the following:

#!/bin/sh
su - postgres -c "/path/to/newScript.ksh"

Hi there,

It's probably expecting a reply to the password: prompt from su.

You can make it all one line and get away with it, but you'd still have to enter 3 passwords (assuming you're not su-ing postgres as root) - one for the su - one for the createuser and one for the createdb call)

su - postgres -c "echo "Please enter the password for a2billing user and confirm it:";createuser -W -s -d -r -e a2billinguser;createdb -e -O a2billinguser a2billing"

Hope it helps :)

, Mike

Thanks you very much Masijade and Eggi. I tried both methods and find the one line easier because of not creating another file; however, I understand that as the file gets bigger then it's better to have it chunks (more organized). You guys are AMAZING.
THANKS

Of course you can always forego maintaining a separate file, and still execute su on a single command as follows:

#!/bin/sh
cat > /tmp/someObscureName.sh <<EOF
#!/bin/sh
echo "Please enter the password for a2billing user and confirm it: "
createuser -W -S -d -r -e a2billinguser
createdb -e -O a2billinguser a2billing
EOF
su - postgres -c "/tmp/someObscureName.sh"
rm -f /tmp/someObscureName.sh
exit 0