hi im new to c++ (started today) and im reading a book about c++ (called C++ Programming A)

Well i started to read and learned the first code and wrote it in Microsoft Visual C++ and i get a error (error C2065: 'cout' : undeclared identifier) i dont know why cause ive written exactly what it says in the book, and can post the code to

# include <iostream>
int main ()
{
int tal1=5, tal2=11, produkt;
produkt=tal1*tal2;
cout << "Produkten är" << produkt;
}

one more question what am i supposed to write in () after int main.?

Thanks in forehand ( and by the way a great forum)

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Try declaring product on a new line. For your second question, nothing goes in the () after main. You only use them when working in functions and passing variables.

ya im gona start c++ soon, cause every one tells me to, but ill promise you 1 thing. I know nothing. Im starting from scratch, but what should i already know. Html, perl ect. cause i dont know either. I was recomendd to learn perl first, but then c++ from another guy, then Qbasic from another. IM SO CONFUSED!. lol.

whats C/c++ for
Whats Qbasic or basic for
whats Perl for
whats open gl for
whats DirectX for

type after the include line :
using namespace std;

that is because cout defined in this namesoace that is all

stg110 thanks for the answer but i dont fully understand when i should use std; and :

alwayes when use c++ u must add this line to make use of the new functionalty in c++ u need not add this line if u will write a normal c code

ok i know why to use it but not when cant u write it in the code i wrote or something.?

as a role when u write a c++ code type it after finishing the include lines
in other words u alwayes u can(or u must) type it

i wrote the thing after but it still doesnt work or is it wrong again?

# include <iostream>
int main()
{
int tal1, tal2, produkt;
tal1=5;
tal2=11;
produkt=tal1*tal2;
cout <<"Produkten är" << produkt;
using namespace std;
}