Hello all. I am fairly new to progamming. I have a free C++ compiler(DEV-C++) and i was wondering if this is ok or should i actually buy a better C++ builder. I'm postive everyone will probably tell me 1 of 2 things.
1) Stick with DEV-C++ and come back when you've got more experience, or,
2) Go ahead and buy an actual builder.
ok so heres the question: What should i get? I know even in the long run i WILL buy a better C++ builder but what should i get. it seems some of my best options are Borland C++ Builder or Microsoft Visual C++. which should i get or should i get something else completly? i expect to stick to programming and hope to go to a programming(preferably game programming) college(full sail is the closest thing to me(its in florida) and it looks good but ill need more experience with programming) so what would all you "experts" out there recommend for me. i have a little experience but not a ton. thx
-Arm

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

1) Dev-C++ is sufficient if you want to learn C++ programming. Dev-C++ is actually a GUI wrapper for the MingW compiler. In other words, you're actually usng the MingW compiler. And the MingW compiler is the Windows port of the GNU GCC compiler, and it is very ISO/C++ compliant.

2) I would recommend getting Microsoft Visual C++ .NET. Mainly because its produced by Microsoft, and it supports all the latest features in the latest Windows operating systems. I've never used Borland C++ so I can't comment on it.

i would stick with the free one you got. i have heard that if you start off with visual C++ you will get spoiled and not actually learn everything you need in C++. i am currently trying to learn C++ and im using gcc but im on linux as well. if i was using windows i would probably go with the Dev-C++ that you are using. but thats jst my 2cents :cheesy: