I am a beginning ISE student taking a C++ programming class and am having trouble with the simplest things. I need to write a program that reads in an address in a single line of text then outputs that address in the appropriate form.
input:
john doe # 1234 main st. # los angeles # california # 90129

ouput:
John Doe
1234 Main St.
Los Angeles, California 90129

thanks for any help you can give

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Please read the announcements at the top of this forum. You will most likely get help when you show you've tried to solve your assignment, then ask questions about specific problems you're having.

Here's starting tip for you - use getline( ) specifying '#' as the delimiter, except when reading in the zipcode.

Val

yea sorry I kinda read through everything after i put it up, I will put more specific questions up sorry to everyone.

in response to the getline hint given above. I was reading about it and started writing code for it but I wanted to check and see if I had the idea right. Do I declare a few different arrays such as

char name[20];
char street[20];
char city[20];
char state[20];
int zip;

getline (name, street, city, state, zip);

//ask for input

cin.get (name, 20, '#');
cin.get (street, 20, '#');
cin.get (street, 20, '#');
//and so on

then prompt for all those things then when they are input they will be read seperatly or what, my book doesnt explain getline very well but i hope I'm somewhat on the right track

to read each of the values into a separate string, you will need separate getline statements.

from the console, you use getline thusly:

cin.getline( str_var, len_of_str_array, delimiter);

The delimiter defaults to newline, so it is not always used. In your case, you will use the '#' character for all but the last data items.

Val