hello, i am new to link list in java, the output() method isn't displaying the last value entered by the user, can i get some help? also you will see some commented methods that i still need to create, if would be of much help, if you can get me started on them as well, but for now i need help with the output

import java.util.*;

public class Node{
    int num;
    Node next;

public Node (int n){
        num = n;
  }
      }
public class JavaApplication3 { 
    public static void main(String[] args) {
        Scanner in = new Scanner(System.in);
        Node top, np, last = null; // initialise nodes
        top = null;

System.out.printf("Enter some interger ending with 0\n");
        int n; 
        n = in.nextInt();
        while (n!=0){            
            np = new Node(n);
            if (top==null) 
                top = np;
            else 
                last.next = np;            
            last = np;           
            n = in.nextInt();
            //end while

} 

//get(index);//return the Indext element of the list
        //index0f(x);//return the index of the first occurrence of  x in the list, return -1 if x is not in the list
        //remove(Index);//remove and return the indexth element, elements with higher index  have their index reduced by 1
        //add(theIndex, x);//insert x as the indexth element, elements with theIndex >= index have their index increased by 1
       output(top);//output the list elements from left to right
    }  //end main
    public static void output(Node top){
        while(top.next != null){
            System.out.printf("%d\n", top.num);
            top = top.next;
        }
    }

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

It's skipping the last item because, for the last item in the list, top.next == null. Therefore the final print loop isn't actioned.