HI, I'm just new to c (programming in general), and I am wondering why getche() echoes every character that I type but not 'Enter' key. Isn't 'Enter' key a character? And also, why does getchar() -which requires to press enter after typing a character- echo the 'Enter' along with the typed character (while it shouldn't because that 'Enter' is for finishing getchar() function)?

Here is the code for getchar() function-

{printf("Hello");
getchar();
getch();}

The output I get is-

Hello
a

I want to know why it echoes 'Enter' key when pressed after a character? And why getche() doesn't (when pressed as a character)?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

It's just how the designers of those two functions decided they should work.

Maybe it does. The Enter character code might be 10 (ASCII) is 10 or 0x0a hexadecimal. Or it could be EOF which might be -1.

Now see what happens when your putchar that to the screen. It may not be what you expect at all.

Maybe you wanted the cursor to move to the beginning of the line and drop down a line. THAT would depend on the terminal and OS. Remember this all began back in 1969 so many new programmers stumble around this because they don't know the history. Or what the enter key is returning.

I didn't notice but I was to write- "Hello\n" instead of "Hello".

@Sappie, so you indirectly told me you want a newline when the Enter is pressed. You'll have to code that to happen.

That is, \n is not the character generated by the enter key.

@rproffitt I actually missed \n in my question, but I was talking about echoing the Enter key after pressing 'a' (the character for getchar). Why does getchar echo Enter while it is for terminating getchar? And why does getche not echo it?