Good day! I am new in vb.net and I want to detect if there is a duplicate of the record that a user will try to add. If the user adds an existing username from the database then it will show an error that the username has already been used.
Here is my code:
conn.Open()

Dim qadd As String = "INSERT INTO tbl_user (uname, pword, ulvl) VALUES ('" & txt_uname.Text & "' , '" & txt_pword1.Text & "' , '" & txt_pword2.Text & "') ON DUPLICATE KEY UPDATE uname = ' " & txt_uname.Text & " '"
        Dim cmd As New MySqlCommand(qadd, conn)
        Dim data As MySqlDataReader = cmd.ExecuteReader
        MsgBox("User has been added!", MsgBoxStyle.Information)
        txt_uname.Clear()
        txt_pword1.Clear()
        txt_pword2.Clear()
        txt_uname.Focus()
        conn.Close()

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Here's what I've done. Keep in mind that, in my search I was looking to see if an existing account number exists. But you can do the same thing with names, addresses, etc. Just change the data field you're searching.

Dim con As New SqlConnection
        Dim cmd As New SqlCommand
        Dim query As String = "Select Count (*) As CustAccntNo FROM CustRec WHERE CustAccntNo = @AcctNo"
        Try
            con.ConnectionString = "Data Source=(LocalDB)\MSSQLLocalDB;Initial Catalog=C:\USERS\DON\DOCUMENTS\SALES.MDF;Integrated Security=True;Connect Timeout=30;Encrypt=False;TrustServerCertificate=False;ApplicationIntent=ReadWrite;MultiSubnetFailover=False"
            con.Open()
            cmd.Connection = con
            cmd = New SqlCommand((query), con)
            cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue("@AcctNo", SqlDbType.BigInt).Value = Convert.ToInt64(tbxAccntNo.Text)
            execScarlar = Convert.ToInt64(cmd.ExecuteScalar())

Catch ex As Exception
            MessageBox.Show("Invalid" & ex.Message)
        Finally
            con.Close()

End Try
        If execScarlar <> 0 Then