Hello im new to the world of php, ive been designing a webpage in ma spare time and ive got to a stage where im stuck its basically ticking checkboxes and inserting them into the next page somehow using the $post method not sure how to do it. But the problem i have is the options i want to chose are searched from a database and i want to select an output and then send it to the next page using a submit button. Form Submit array, ive got no idea at all ive done some coding up to adding checkboxes next to each row. heres my coding so far. Also i dont think you can have form in the php section;

<?
<form name="Dates" action=".php" method="post" onsubmit="return checkCheckBoxe();">
// Loop through data and display
while($a_row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result))
{
echo "<tr>".
'<td style="color: red;"><input type="checkbox" name="bookings[]" value="'.$a_row.'"></td>'.
"<td style=\"color:red\">".$a_row."</td>".
"<td style=\"color:red\">".$a_row."</td></tr>";
}
// Close connection ! (please !)
mysql_close($connection);

<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Submit!" />
</form>
?>

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

first, no, you cant have any html inside of the php tags unless it is in an echo/print . i would put the form and submit buttom outside of the tags.

second, before you try to loop through databaase results, you have to connect to the database and retrieve results.
example:

mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpasswd) or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db($dbname) or die(mysql_error());
$sql = "SELECT * FROM your_db_table";
	$result = mysql_query($sql);

and also, the "onsubmit" attribute of the html form tag does not relate to php. that is only if you are submiting the form with javascript.

hope this helps :P

<form name="Dates" action=".php" method="post" onsubmit="return checkCheckBoxe();">

action=".php" should be action="filename.php".