Hi All,
Can you help me solve my problem.
I am new to ASP.Net programming. In my job i have to create a Login Page which checks Username and Password with the SQLServer 2005 database and validates.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hello all.

Very much a newbie at asp.net.
Have created a website on my local machine including a simple login page to restrict users to access. Pulled all the necessary ASP.NET 2.0 controls into aspx pages.
I did create a App_Data folder with appropriate .mdf and .ldf.
Created my allowed clients in the CreateUserWizard.
Checked the .mdf file and all my data is there.
Web.config file created:
<configuration>
<system.web>
<roleManager enabled="true" />
<authentication mode="Forms" />
<customErrors mode="Off"/>
</system.web>
</configuration>
All works as a charm in my local machine.
Upon uploading my site to my webhost, none of the login features work.
With these errors:
Server Error in '/' Application.
An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server. When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 26 - Error Locating Server/Instance Specified)
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server. When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 26 - Error Locating Server/Instance Specified)

Source Error: