Hi all,

I have a problem with a script that is driving me round the bend and I do hope someone can shed some light on the matter. I am new to Javascript and need a nudge in the right direction.

I have three select menus - Country, Region and County.

If you select a Country, the Region menu updates. If you then choose a Region, the County menu updates.

I have used a script from GreatASP.co.uk and, after a small amount of fiddling and a large amount of swearing, I have this working in IE but Firefox doesn't even try:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="Javascript">

function getSelect(selectname,selection,recordset,destination){

if(selection!=''){

var doc = null; 

// Make a new XMLHttp object

if (typeof window.ActiveXObject != 'undefined' ) 
   { 
       doc = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP"); 
   } 
   else 
   { 
       doc = new XMLHttpRequest(); 
   }

// Load the result from the response page

if (doc){ 	 
		doc.open("GET", "populate.asp?selectname="+selectname+"&selection=" + selection+"&recordset="+recordset, false);
		doc.send(null);
// Write the response to the div
		destination.innerHTML = doc.responseText;
	}else{
		destination.innerHTML = 'Browser unable to create XMLHttp Object';
		}
}else{
// Return the next select box back to the default
destination.innerHTML= '<select><option value=""></option></select>';
}

selectname= null
selection = null
recordset = null

}
</SCRIPT>

In the original version from GreatASP, the author puts the following line about the function declaration, but I have found that this actually stops the code from working in IE.

// declare new variables for each new div that you add, and link to the div by ID
var subcatdiv = document.getElementById("subcat_div");

Obviously, I changed the variable name and div name to suit.