hallo there.

i am new in programming so i ask for your understanding

i want to put the results from a sql query into a textarea. then i want to be able to pick one of the records of textarea and delete it (textarea and database). (i dont have to use textarea i just thouhgt it would be a good idea)

something is not right. this is my code

echo "<form method=post name=f2 action='dd-delete.php'>";

$qry="SELECT id, member, math, bathmos FROM bathmoi";
echo '<textarea name="show" rows="20" cols="70" readonly="readonly">';

while($result = mysql_fetch_array($qry)) {
echo "$result[id], $resuld[memeber], $result[mathima]";
}
echo "</textarea>";

echo "<input type=submit value=Submit>";
echo "</form>";

i receive:

<br />
<b>Warning</b>: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in <b>C:\xampp\htdocs\admin\drop_down\dd.php</b> on line <b>118</b><br />

can u help me? what should i do to see the records and be able to pick one of then in order to delete it (from database and textarea)?

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

$qry="SELECT id, member, math, bathmos FROM bathmoi";
$handle=mysql_query($qry);

echo '<textarea name="show" rows="20" cols="70" readonly="readonly">';

if(mysql_num_rows($handle) > 0)
{

while($result = mysql_fetch_array($handle)) 
  {
    echo "$result[id], $resuld[memeber], $result[mathima]";
  }

}
echo "</textarea>";

also it is not a good practice to allow user to delete records through a text box, the possibilities of error will increase.
you can list result in tabular form and display a delete link in the last column of each record rows.

while($result = mysql_fetch_array($qry))

hi there,
you get error at this line becuase in mysql_fetch_array($result) function can takes only result variable which holds output generated by $result=mysql_query($qry);
hope you understand.