Hi all,
I am very new to php and am slowly trying to get something together.

I have a MySQL database with a table that has (among others) a field which is TINYINT called "field1". I have managed to be able to store a 1 or 0 in it from a checkbox.

I now need to be able to display that choice as a checkbox after it has been stored in the database.

The code I have:

<?php
/* some php code */
/* Name */
echo "<p><b>Name: ".$req_user_info['name']."</b><br />";
/* Username */
echo "<p><b>Username: ".$req_user_info['username']."</b><br />";
/* Email */
echo "<b>Email:</b> ".$req_user_info['email']."</p>";
/* field1 */
echo "<b>field1:</b> ".$req_user_info['field1']."</p>";
/* some more php code */
?>

Displays this:

Name: Steven King
Username: stevenk
Email: stevenking@kingmail.com
field1: 1
(fictitious details)

This shows me that the value is being retrieved correctly, but instead of text of numeral 1 or 0, I want it to display a checkbox that is either checked(1) or not checked(0).

I have found so much help on how to get checkbox values into a MySQL database, but none on how to display retrieved values as a checkbox.

Any help that anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers Al

I have tried"

if($req_user_info['field1'] = 1){
	echo "<b>eNewsletter: </b><input type=\"checkbox\" name=\"field1\" value=".$req_user_info['field1']." CHECKED><br/>";
}
else{
	echo "<b>field1: </b><br/>";
}

But this displays a checked checkbox whether the value of field1 is 1 or 0

It seems that if I keep trying then eventually I get there:

if($req_user_info['field1'] == 1){
	echo "<b>field1: </b><input type=\"checkbox\" name=\"field1\" value=".$req_user_info['field1']." CHECKED><br/>";
}
else{
	echo "<b>field1: </b><input type=\"checkbox\" name=\"field1\" value=".$req_user_info['field1']." UNCHECKED><br/>";
}

I am no so much closer to my goal

<?php 
session_start();
$req_user_info['field1'] = 1; //switch to zero to see the change

if($req_user_info['field1'] == 1)
{