document.execCommand("CreateLink",false,szURL);
	}
}
// --> 
</SCRIPT>
</HEAD> 
<BODY> 
<H1>Creating a link</H1> 
Here's some text. Select some and click the button to turn it into a hyperlink. 
<BR /> 
<BUTTON ONCLICK="createLink()">Click to create the link</BUTTON> 
</body>
</html>

It's working ok in IE, but in Firefox (3.5.3 I'm using), I get the following error:

uncaught exception: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE) [nsIDOMNSHTMLDocument.execCommand]" nsresult: "0x80004005 (NS_ERROR_FAILURE)" location: "JS frame :: [url]http://localhost/america/editora/simple2.html[/url] :: createLink :: line 11" data: no]

Line 0

I have googled for this error but seems nobody is having problems with it? Any help much appreciated, I'm a rookie in javascript.

(line 11 is the CreateLink line)

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hello I'm using this code I got from an example:

<head>
<TITLE>Creating a link</TITLE> 
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript"> 
<!--
function createLink() 
{ 
	var szURL = prompt("Enter a URL:", "http://");
	if ((szURL != null) && (szURL != "")) {
		document.execCommand("CreateLink",false,szURL);
	}
}
// --> 
</SCRIPT>
</HEAD> 
<BODY> 
<H1>Creating a link</H1> 
Here's some text. Select some and click the button to turn it into a hyperlink. 
<BR /> 
<BUTTON ONCLICK="createLink()">Click to create the link</BUTTON> 
</body>
</html>

It's working ok in IE, but in Firefox (3.5.3 I'm using), I get the following error:

I have googled for this error but seems nobody is having problems with it? Any help much appreciated, I'm a rookie in javascript.

(line 11 is the CreateLink line)

That's because firefox is not capable of executing this or any other commands associated with document.exec !

Hmm but document.execCommand with "bold", 'underline' and 'italics' work in FF.

Anyway... if you could point me in the right direction as to how to create a link in FF I'd appreciate. Just a hint will be enough :)