hello all, i am new to ajax.. unfortunately, i was given an assignment before i complete ajax.. i need help, someone pls direct me where i can learn to solve the following thing!!

Consider a web page has 3 frames, the top has the header, the left has the actions in a tree, and the right is the functional frame. In the top of functional frame i need to add another frame, in which all the messages can be displayed. i.e when I want to show a failure message to the user for the validation done on the inputs given, instead of an alert popping up, I can display the message on that frame which stays for a few seconds.

any kinda tips would be of much help to me.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Have u been able to come up with anything?
Ajax isnt difficult. try w3schools' website.

commented: Thanks girl +1

i didnt figure this out yet.. :(

Start with the basics, create a page with three frames.
Then go to http://www.w3schools.com/Ajax/ajax_example.asp, play around with the example.

You can use the same ajax code that is provided on that site, and incorporate it into the page with the three frames.

hey thirusha..
thanks for the heads up.. i solved half..

i created frames, validated the input..
now, i need to send the output of that validation to the next frame..
any resource would be of great help :)

in the ajax function, where you process the response, you will set the innerhtml of that frame to be the response.
something like this,

document.getElementById('frameId').innerHTML = req.responseText

You can post the code that u have so far, and i shall take a look.

actually, i did it with javascript itself.. :|
here's my two frames codes..

Actions.html
<html>
<body>
<p>This is Actions Frame</p>
<br />
	<form name="validate" method="post"  > <!-- onsubmit="valtext(this)" -->
	<input type="text" name="username" />
	<input type="submit" value="submit" onclick="parent.passvalue(this.form.username.value);" />
	</form>

</body>
</html>

Functions.html
<html>
<head>