how do i add an image path to a mysql table of mine which has "product image" as a field.
i have saved the necessary images to images folder in root folder as well...
please help!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Please give more information. As for example, do you need to hardcode the paths or do you need it to be dynamic so you can upload the path/image to mysql via php?

no im still beginning learining php, if for example i have an items table, one of the fields in it is "images"
so what is the syntax
INSERT INTO items WHERE images
VALUES <how do i right the path>

is it a relative path or an absolute path?
can i add an image from anywhere in the machine or does it have to be from the images folder in my htdocs project folder

no im still beginning learining php, if for example i have an items table, one of the fields in it is "images"
so what is the syntax
INSERT INTO items WHERE images
VALUES <how do i right the path>

is it a relative path or an absolute path?
can i add an image from anywhere in the machine or does it have to be from the images folder in my htdocs project folder

You should have an image folder in the project folder. If you need to get it from anywhere in the machine it is a whole different story. Also, if you are getting just the filepath from somewhere on your machine instead of the project's public folder, nobody else is going to be able to see that image. So you need the image path to come from the public folder.

If you put the images in your images folder then you will need to store the path of each image you want to save in the table as a string, and then INSERT INTO items (image) VALUES ($image_path); or something like that.

Now, what you need to figure out is how to get the path in a variable basically. You can create a "browse for files" with Javascript, and then use what Javascript gets to POST the filepath as a variable and then store it in $image_path so you can use it as I mentioned before.