I'm a newbie trying to modify the code in an AJAX tutorial to load data from an XML file, and it is not working. The code is in a php file that is invoked with the URL: getXMLTest.php?showName=photoShowTest.xml The code I've written (mostly copied from the tutorial, actually) is:

<!Doctype HTML>
<html>

<head>
  <script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">

var XMLDoc;

function getXMLDoc(XMLFile){
      XMLDocRequest=false;  // The variable that makes Ajax possible!

try{	
  		// Opera 8.0+, Firefox, Safari
        XMLDocRequest = new XMLHttpRequest();
      } catch (e){
  		// Internet Explorer Browsers
        try{
          XMLDocRequest = new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP");
        } catch (e) {
          try{
  	  XMLDocRequest = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP");
  	} catch (e){
  				// Something went wrong
  	  alert("Your browser broke!");
  	  return false;
  	}
        }
      }
  	// Create a function that will receive data sent from the server
      XMLDocRequest.onreadystatechange = function(){    
        if(XMLDocRequest.readyState == 4){
alert("debug message 1:ready state=");  
          XMLDoc = XMLDocRequest.responseXML;
        }
      }

alert("debug message 2:XMLFile="+XMLFile);
      XMLDocRequest.open("GET", XMLFile, false);	
      XMLDocRequest.setRequestHeader('Content-Type',  "text/xml");
      XMLDocRequest.send(null);
    } 

function initPhotoShow(fileName){
        getXMLDoc(fileName);
alert("debug message 3:XMLDoc="+XMLDoc);
        var photos = XMLDoc.getElementsByTagName('photo');
alert("debug message 4:");
        //do clever things with the XML data ......
   }
  </script>
</head>

<body onload="initPhotoShow("<?php $inStr=$_GET['showName']; echo $showName; ?>")">
</body>

</html>

The contents of the XML file are:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-15"?>

<slides>
  <photo name="sbMapPhotos/sanBasilio.jpg" height="600" />
  <photo name="sbMapPhotos/touristOffice.jpg" height="435" />