Hello, I'm fairly new to php. I have a two page's, one where user creates account. The other one is for the user to insert other information. If user completes both pages I want to direct them to their personal page, else, direct them to the second page to insert the other data if they did not do it during the first session.

Basically, If user completed registration on 2nd page go to XXX.php
Else go to yyy.php. (to complete registration)

By the way, I'm using a parent and child table with a foreign key.
Thanx!

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

evstevemd is absolutely correct,
here is the basic code for header:
if registration complete

header('Location:xxx.php');

else

header('Location:yyy.php');

Yes, thank you. But how can my site know if the user submitted the second form or not.

i recommend you use javascript redirect

echo "<script>window.location='form2.php'</script>";

to avoid annoying error on php header() function, about already sent output.
regards on how you will know if the 2nd form is successfully and correctly filled up. you can add a field in your database table where you store your record. you can add a 'status' field, and set it to 1 or 0, let's say 1=complete, 0=incomplete.

Member Avatar for diafol

Personally, I'd stay clear of js if possible - header() if used correctly shouldn't cause an error ("headers already sent").

Am I correct in assuming your db:-

table1 (members - records created on registration):
id (PK)
username
pw
email
(etc)
table2 (profile - records created when profile form sent):
id (PK)
user_id* (FK)
hobbies
(etc)

Just check for the existence of a record in the profile table (matching user_id). If one exists - go to the personal page, else go to the profile page. However VD's status is a good solution.

Personally, I'd stay clear of js if possible - header() if used correctly shouldn't cause an error ("headers already sent").