Hey all,
I'm rather new to PHP but learning fast over the last several weeks, (so please pardon my ignorance)

I've created SQL db, a number of php pages & scripts which interact with it, and have created an html mainpage. The main page is going to act as a static background (wallpaper) and display results based on menu selection. My problem is this:

I want to have a menu on the left side whereby when a user slects an option, the output is displayed in the center of the page.

the php scripts function fine and display the information if I place the coding inline with the html. (I've modifid the .htaccess file). Where I'm having my difficulty is associating those scripts so they are only triggered when selected from a meu option.

I've created 2 HTML DIV-Objects on the page with absolute positining. Div-Object 1 handles the positioning of the menu, and div-object 2 is where I want the output (php script results) to display. Problem is, I'm not getting anywhere with this and could use some input.

Thanks for any and all input.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

are you using complete path names?
are the file and/or directory permissions correct?
Are the PHP files in or below doc root?
I don't know what htaccess has to do with it.

All the files are in the same directory, with the exception of the includes, which are in a sub-directory, referenced by the relative path. (eg. subdir/filename) Permissions are not an issue

All the files located below the root directory, in a "development" directory while the pag is being built.

modifying htaccess allows me to imbed php files within my html page and still be active.(the html page will execute embedded php commands , specifically, 'includes')

This may be a very basic routine as far as programming goes, I'm just pulling a brainjam here, and hoping smeone can guide me in the right direction to "unjam".

a guy here saying hes just a newbie to PHP but know how to use .htaccess?