Hi Guys I am new to PHP and slowly learning. I have a piece of code that I need some help with. I am trying to take user input and use it to query data from a table in MYSQL. I know all my connections are working because I can change my query and make it dump the entire database, but now I want to search it I have tried so many things and just cannot seem to get any results from it. This is a small piece of the code but it is where the problem is. If I change '$_POST' to '100' for example I get the results back just how I want them but the user input seems to be where my problem is how can I fix this? Thank you for your help in advance!

<?php

include "sql_connect.php";

$test = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM Movies WHERE Mov_ID = '$_POST['text']'")
or die(mysql_error());

echo "<table border='1'>";
echo "<tr> <th>ID</th> <th>Title</th> <th>Actor 1</th> <th>Actor 2</th> <th>Actor 3</th> <th>Actor 4</th> <th>Notes</th> <th>Status</th> <th>Media</th></tr>";

while($row = mysql_fetch_array($test)){

echo "<tr><td>"; 
        echo $row['Mov_ID'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Title'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Actor_1'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Actor_2'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Actor_3'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Actor_4'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Notes'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Status'];
        echo "</td><td>";
        echo $row['Media'];
        echo "</td><td>";

-Justin

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

In your line:

$test = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM Movies WHERE Mov_ID = '$_POST['text']'") or die(mysql_error());

I'm not terribly sure how PHP deals with ' inside of ' but you might be safer to add a line so it looks like:

$Post_text=$_POST['text'];
$test = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM Movies WHERE Mov_ID = '$Post_text'") or die(mysql_error());

I've never used this one, but I saw someone else use something like this: