Hi, I'm an absolute noob to php, I know a little, enough to get me by so far by learning from snippets and suchlike.

Before I dive into a new area (sessions) I'd like to know if what I am intending is possible or silly.

What I have

I dont have a forum, or a website as such to log into, but my application is of an online nature and I would like to log the times and time periods my application users are active.

At the moment my users start the app by entering their password via a client gui which is hashed and sent to a php script, which in turn checks the password hash against its counterpart in a mysql database table.

My Intentions

I want to prevent my users from sharing their passwords with friends.

The way I want to do this is by logging the IP of the user, and denying any further login attempts from a different IP while the first is active.

I cannot hardcode the IPs because as you know they can change or some even dynamic.

My questions

It this possible?
With my limited knowledge of php, am I out of my depth?
Any tips for getting started?

Any and all advice greatly appreciated.

Suze.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

You can get the user's IP ($_SERVER)

If you store this in the user's DB record, you can check it on a subsequent login request for the same user.

It isn't very difficult to prevent additional logins but you need to handle the situation where the user just shuts down without logging out.