Hi,

I am trying to search for numbers in an array - "explodedArray" which has been "exploded from a text entry. The aim is to be able to allow the user to type something in like " 5 + 5 " or "5 plus 5" or even "5 plus 5 minus 10 + 4" etc...

The following code was a test to implement the "5 plus 5" scenario. Unfortunately, it doesn't work. I am just beginning with PHP and have looked through a lot of things and this is what I wrote.

If you could help me, show me another method or something along those lines, I would be grateful.

Thanks very much.

if (array_search("plus", $explodedArray)) 

{

$explodedArrayNumber = count($explodedArray); 

while ($explodedArrayNumber > 0)

{
						$explodedArrayNumber -= 1;

if (is_int($explodedArray[$explodedArrayNumber]))

{
									$total += $explodedArray[$explodedArrayNumber];
									echo "$total";  
								}

}
			}

Sorry for the weird indenting - it looks very different ( a lot better) in Dreamweaver but really bad here.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

hmm, I think you'd be better off storing numbers and operators with something like preg_ functions?

Otherwise, you're going to use eval() - which is very rarely a good idea

Hmm... I looked over the internet and saw a couple of examples of those. How would I implement it? I'm not even sure if I understand what they are properly.

Member Avatar for diafol

What are what?

Also, for some reason I'm getting an error here when I load the page. After I search, it works great. What's going wrong there? I know its to do with there being nothing in the textbox when you start the page. However, I can't think of a good condition for the if statement.

<form action="AnswerPage.php" method="get"> 
	<input type="search" name="search" size="80%"/> 
        <input type="submit" style="display:none"/>
</form> 

<?php
$Question = $_REQUEST['search']; 
echo "$Question" ;
?>
Member Avatar for diafol