I am currently working on a simple survey system for educational purposes. I know it is subject to SQL Injection, but I am new to PHP/MySQL and wanted to learn something basic so I have something to build upon later.

Basically, I have an HTML form that processes the PHP on the same page:

<form action="" method="post">
Please enter your first name: <input type="text" name="first_name" size="40" /><br /><br /> 
Please enter your last name: <input type="text" name="last_name" size="40" /><br /><br /> 
A number where you can be reached: <input type="text" name="phone" size="15" /><br /><br />

Was your technical issue resolved? <select name="resolved"><option selected="selected" value="">Select One...</option><option value="yes">Yes</option><option value="no">No</option></select><br /><br /> 

On a scale of 1 - 5, was your technician knowledgeable?<br /> <select name="knowledge"><option selected="selected" value="">Select One...</option><option value="1">1 - The technician was not knowledgeable at all</option><option value="2">2 - The technician was somewhat knowledgeable</option><option value="3">3 - The technician met my standards</option><option value="4">4 - The technician was knowledgeable</option><option value="5">5 - The technician was very knowledgeable</option></select><br /><br /> 

On a scale of 1 - 5, was your technician friendly?<br /><select name="friendly"> <option selected="selected" value="">Select One...</option><option value="1">1 - The technician was not friendly at all</option><option value="2">2 - The technician was somewhat friendly</option><option value="3">3 - The technician met my standards</option><option value="4">4 - The technician was friendly</option><option value="5">5 - The technician was very friendly</option></select><br /><br />