Hello everybody, I know it's a beginner's question (since I'm new to PHP), my question is how do you deploy your PHP website on the Web? Do you know any tool to host my site? This site FYI is a simple forum, that is to say, it's database-driven. So I'm also thinking how other users who will register to my forum will be able to login? How do you also host your database as well? Please help because it's my very first time to do this. My first website is hosted by webs.com but I don't know how it's actually being hosted without webs.com.

Any help is highly appreciated :)

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

webs.com don't offer this AFAIK. Find a host that offers PHP, MySQL DBs - there are thousands out there. My last project was with jushost.com . SO far, so good. Cheap, reliable - and has cPanel. IMO cPanel is essential for tweaking your settings unless you're some flavour of Unix Guru.

You just need an FTP client (try Filezilla) in order to upload files from your local machine to the remote server. Your DB can be tranferred too via import of .sql files.

ANyway, get a local copy of apache server/php/mysql first. I've found XAMPP to be a good option.

Hello @diafol, thanks for your response! Anyways, I already have a local copy of apache server and I'm using xampp. What I find new is this FileZilla, I don't know how to use this, do you know any tutorials on how to upload files to a remote server? And if I, by chance, already uploaded it to the remote server, does that mean I need to pay or what? And another thing I'd like to ask is that if my forum site is uploaded, can I now add topic for example, and then my friend from America visits my site and replied to my topic is it now viewable to him? I need clear explanations on this since I'm new to PHP. Thanks buddy.

I wanted demo forum online so I registered on WWW.PROPHPBB.COM , they give free forum with limited settings. But good one to start free forum.