Ok, I am not a professional in PHP as I am more on front-end than back-end. I want to know some information of file upload in PHP. I did create a website as a project where users can upload images, with its security and validation. The images stored in a folder. It was good. However, I have not tried other things with file upload, so here are my questions:

1/ When I did the image upload system, I used the $FILES function, name, size and tmp_name. Then I checked the image formats with regular expression. I want to know, will this be applied on any file formats like docx, pdf, mp3, rar, zip etc? I mean if I want to let users upload any file format, is the procedure the same?

2/ I am not going to use database. The files uploaded will be in a folder. Before upload, the user can choose a period when the file will be deleted. For example, the user can chose 3 days, 1 week and 1 month for the file to be deleted automatically. Can we do this in PHP? If yes, how it works? Well, I am not asking for codes here, but you can expain me. Suppose the user chooses 3 days in a drop dow list, how to proceed the algorithm for the uploaded file to be deleted automatically from the folder in 3 days?

Thank!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

1. Yes.

2. You can write the filename and a timestamp to a textfile. Have a cron job running once a day to check the file, and delete any that expired.

well, I don't know what is cron job lol.

I made a simple script to upload all formats and it worked. I use regular expression to check file formats not MIME, because I have read MIME can be modified. ANd I find the regular expression better, easy and only one line of code lol.

I have some remaining questions, I dont wan people to upload EXE and other formats. Of course, it will fail if someone wants to upload a prohibited file format file. However, as I am letting people upload RAR and ZIP, they can archived a prohibited file format in ZIP or RAR and it will upload. How to prevent this?