Hi guys,
I have decided to learn php, can some one help me to give a good start. Is it mandatory to know any language before i start learning Php. I have no knowledge in any programming langauge. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance guys.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I'd suggest you at least know a fair amount of HTML, Javascript and CSS before moving up to PHP. Search for tutorials online for each of these. W3Schools is usually a good place to start.

MySQL is something you should really learn along side PHP as well if you will ever consider looking at writing database driven websites/applications.

Hi guys,
I have decided to learn php, can some one help me to give a good start. Is it mandatory to know any language before i start learning Php. I have no knowledge in any programming langauge. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance guys.

There are no prerequisites to learning PHP, per se. That's not to say there aren't any languages/technologies that go hand-in-hand with PHP. Even though PHP is categorized as a general purpose language it's still very much designed for web development. It does not replace client-side technologies such as HTML, CSS or JavaScript. You'll want to familiarize yourself with at least HTML and CSS in order to create and stylize web documents.

bobs mentioned MySQL. And I agree with him, though I would like to expand a little on that front. PHP's role is largely centered around data; retrieval, storage and manipulation to be specific. The vast majority of the time that data is going to be coming from a database. MySQL is one of a few commonly used RDBMS solutions (relational database management systems). It's easily the most popular amongst hobbyist developers and has an extraordinarily mature documentation and community. Thus support for it is ample.