okay guys here is a thing i am new in asp.net and just love toying with technology and trying to learn asp.net through creating persnal projects.

i am trying to create website that will basically take users info and users information and then store that in the data base. once that done and they are registered they will then proceed to a new page that is called portfolio. here i want the page to display all the photos that are saved in the folder directory. with the paths stored in the datbase. after that i when a user clicks a photo it takes him to a page where the photo is displayed in the middle and then all the information that the user has uploaded will be displayed after that .

this is my first project in web develpment and before that i had no pior knowlege of asp andn some rudimentary knowlege of c#. the thing is that i have been able to connect the database and store all the info and i have been able to extract all the info and display it in the template page simillary i have been able to display all the pictures by hard coding and using asp url tool. but i want to do that dynamically like when the page loads i want the page to fisrt gather all the pics and show that on the page. i heard that repeater class is used for it and i am figuring out how that works. but the thing is that repeater class turn that pic to the url so that when i click on that photo it takes me to a new page (template page ) where then i am able to display all the info.

i am not asking for the code all i am asking is a simple nudge in the right direction.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The repeater control is the right way to go. The only thing I would suggest is to think about how you want the image link to work. Personally, I would include the member ID for the photo in the link so the profile page reads the ID from the POST or the query parameters and uses that to extract the data from the database.
e.g. the naviagte URL for the image might be href='profile.aspx?id=109'