I have some experience when it comes to CodeIgniter. I am trying to figure out a method for determining the window size of a browser and assign it POST or $this or the user session (also part of $this). I need the variable to persist for the session.

In my site there is a table of data that needs to be formatted differently for width greater than 768px. By trial and error, I have tried different methods using CSS media queries but there is no way around it: I need to know, server-side, what the browser window width is so I can execute code in my controller send it along with all other HTML to the view.

I did consider the User Agent class but that will only inform me as to whether the device might be mobile, not the browser window width.

From research, I found various javascript and jQuery tutorials for dynamically saving the browser window width to a variable but these are all premised on after the document is loaded and ready.

Is there a simple way to accomplish this?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

Server side doesn't make any sense. CSS data queries should work. If you need different markup based on breakpoints then you probably need js. Using php makes no sense as this needs to be responsive. PHP is not "responsive".

Maybe this will help make sense.

Before the user sees a page with the table data, the user will need to log-in. Logged-in begins a session and from there PHP is already collecting information about the browser. Why not take it a step further and determine window width?

To efficiently use the screen space, the table in question is rendered as two <td> per row at less than 768px and can be rendered as four <td> per row at higher than 768px. To demonstrate what I mean have a look at this jsfiddle.

I have written the functions in my controller to render the table either way. I simply need a variable that will inform the width of the browser and use that variable for an if method to return the table code block.