Hi,
how can I use regex or string replace to add missing "p" tags to sentences without tags.
I tried matching* and splitting first the whole string matching "h" and "pre" tags but dont know how to merge it.

*let regexRule = /<pre>(.|\n|\r\n)[\s\S]*?<\/pre>/g;

Example - input

let someVariable = "Basket
<h1>Fruits</h1>
<pre>Apple
Juice</pre>
<pre>Kiwi</pre>
PVC thing
Trash
<h1>...</h1>";

How can I add "p" tag to Basket, PVC thing and Trash so output would be:

someVariable = "<p>Basket</p>
<h1>Fruits</h1>
<pre>Apple
Juice</pre>
<pre>Kiwi</pre>
<p>PVC thing</p>
<p>Trash</p>
<h1>...</h1>";

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm not too good with regex, but if you're using jQuery, there's a built-in utility where you pass it an HTML string, and it converts that string to valid dom nodes for you to do what you want with. Hope maybe this will help with whatever it is you're trying to do.

commented: Thanks for reply. Instead of regex, how can I achieve my goal using cheerio or node-html-parser or with jquery? +2

I used cheerio in node.js

let someVariable = "Basket<h1>Fruits</h1><pre>AppleJuice</pre><pre>Kiwi</pre>PVC thing Trash<h1>...</h1>";
let addBodyTag = cheerio.load(someVariable).html(); // add html/body tag
let $ = cheerio.load(addBodyTag, {
    normalizeWhitespace: true,
    xmlMode: true
}); // load one more time without html/body tag

$('body').contents().each(function(i, el) {
    if (el.type == 'text') { // in jQuery 'text' condition is nodeType == 3
    // if there is untagged elements, then add <p> tag
        $(this).wrap("<p>");
    }
})
let returnResult = $.html();
// could not put in one line, this doesnt work:
// returnResult = returnResult.substr(returnResult.indexOf("<body>") + 6, returnResult.length - 14);

returnResult = returnResult.substr(returnResult.indexOf("<body>") + 6, returnResult.length);
returnResult = returnResult.substr(0, returnResult.length - 14);