Greetings.
I'm very new to asp and I encountered this little problem.
I have 2 files -> home.html & process.asp
In home.html, there are some input textfields.
In process.asp, I have inserted a textfield also.
I tried to post the form in home.html to process.asp. I managed to get the data with this little line:

<% =Request.Form("yyyy1") %>

However, when I tried to insert the value in =Request.Form("yyyy1") into a textfield in process.asp, it says

Error Type:
Microsoft JScript runtime (0x800A1391)
'service' is undefined
/chm/Calculator/process.asp, line 39

For your information, service is the textfield's name.
Please help.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Err, sorry guys, I think I've figured it out already.
Anyway, 1 more problem here: same scenario, 2 files -> home.html & process.asp
Is it possible for me to do the data validation in home.html after the user presses SUBMIT, any errors must be corrected before submitting the form again to process.asp?
P.s: process.asp is another pop-up window.

Err, sorry guys, I think I've figured it out already.
Is it possible for me to do the data validation in home.html after the user presses SUBMIT

Yes, but you'd have to use JavaScript to read the values of the text field. Even if you did this, it would not be secure enough because I could create my own form and view it from my home computer, submitting directly to your process.asp, which leads to my next answer...

any errors must be corrected before submitting the form again to process.asp?
P.s: process.asp is another pop-up window.

Why don't you validate within process.asp? It's safer.

Error Type:
Microsoft JScript runtime (0x800A1391)
'service' is undefined
/chm/Calculator/process.asp, line 39

This error is strange. Are you using VBScript for your ASP page? If so, why does it give you a JScript runtime error? Do you have JScript running by default rather than ASP? Just curious.